An Interview with my 4 year old

I have been thinking about how much my four year old has changed and grown this past year. Time sure has flown by. She is due to start at a Montessori school in approx two weeks time, so I thought it was nice to take some time to reflect on this past year and ask her a few questions about her favourite things. This was fun for the both of us. I started out by just asking a few questions, but my four year old then wanted me to ask specific questions she wanted to answer. So the interview went something like this;

  1. How old are you? I am three, almost four years old
  2. What is your favourite colour? Pink
  3. What is your favourite food? Apple, strawberry and tomato
  4. What is your favourite drink? Milk
  5. What is your favourite book? My nursery rhyme book because I like to sing.
  6. What is your favourite place to visit? The park
  7. What is your favourite animal? Giraffe
  8. What are your favourite things? My music box and baby doll
  9. What are your favourite things to do? Draw, sing and dance, read and play lego. I also like to write letters and numbers.
  10. Is there anything else you would like to add? Yes my favourite shape is a triangle and I don’t like spiders. I want to be a doctor and a ballet dancer when I get big.

So, where are we at four years of age? Her main focus at this present time seems to be on learning to read and write, to count and add, tell the time, learn the months and seasons of the year and to learn to sew and swim. I have noticed there is less interest in certain Practical Life (hanging washing on the line etc) activities unless it’s cooking or doing food prep, flower arranging or gardening which she loves. Art of any kind is always popular, drawing especially.

Care of Self (Where we are at four years of age)

  • Hand washing (using soap and a scrubbing brush). She can also use soap pump
  • Washing hair for the most part (shampoo is in a small travel size container)
  • Washing face using a face cloth
  • Brushing hair using a brush and comb
  • Brushing teeth independently (we often brush our teeth together which is a great way to model the correct way to do this)
  • Getting dressed (day and night time clothes). I buy larger sized clothing so it’s easier.
  • Putting on shoes (she has velcro shoes or simple tennis shoes), no laces yet.
  • Putting on sunscreen (we use a roll on)
  • Using tissues (folding, using properly and putting into the bin next to the tissue box when finished)
  • Letting me know when she needs a haircut (fringe too long- in her eyes) or her nails cut (finger nails too long).
  • Toilet learning (day and night)
  • Packs her own bag with hat, sunglasses, sunscreen and water bottle when we go out.
  • Eating- helps set the table and can use correct cutlery (fork, knife and spoon).
  • Can get a drink or snack independently.
  • Recognises the signs of being tired and tells me so (day and night)
  • Helps to put things away/tidy up and clean up after spills etc

Favourite shelf materials (most used) and some of her favourite things to do;

Alphabet puzzle and moveable alphabet

Story stones and felt board

Doll house and barn and our block shelf/pretend play shelf

Art activities- painting, drawing and collage

GardeningIMG_6848muddy puddles

Gardening, sand and water play.

Music and movement, board games and puzzles

Yoga.

Putting on a puppet show, going on a nature walk and visiting the beach.

IMG_6542IMG_5788IMG_6405juice prepIMG_6078

In the kitchen cooking and doing food prep.

Bead threading, sewing and using pattern blocks.

 


One thought on “An Interview with my 4 year old

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s